

Elsevier, ARMS announce winners of Scopus award

24 September 2012 | News | By BioSpectrum Bureau

Elsevier, ARMS announce winners of 2012 Scopus Young Researcher award



Singapore: Elsevier and the Australasian Research Management Society (ARMS) awarded the winners of the 3rd annual Scopus Young Researcher of the Year Awards 2012, at the ARMS 14th annual conference at Australia, Gold Coast. The awards support early career researchers in their quest to advance the frontiers of science across a broad range of disciplines.

More than 148 researchers, employed at institutions of higher education across Australia and New Zealand, submitted their research for consideration for the respective award categories, including humanities and social sciences, physical sciences, engineering and technology, life sciences and biological sciences and medicine and medical sciences.

The winners and finalists were selected by an independent panel of three experts per category. Applicants were evaluated largely based on key criteria, including research impact (taking into account the average number of citations per paper and H-index derived from Scopus), external impact and esteem contribution.

Professor Philip Morgan, University of Newcastle; Dr Andrew Bowie, University of Tasmania; Dr Cyrille Boyer, The University of New South Wales; Dr Michael Kasumovic, The University of New South Wales; Dr Genevieve Healy, The University of Queensland; were declared winners in humanities and social sciences, physical sciences, engineering and technology, life sciences and biological sciences, medicine and medical sciences respectively.